“Move Your Hood!”Co-creative development of urban spaces as a game changer for the sustainable mobility transition

The sustainable mobility transition in Germany is not making any progress. It requires a radical change of attitudes and mentalities as well as social practices and behavior patterns. The transformation of living environments, accompanied by burdens and changes of behavior, potentially generates resistance and conflicts. A redesign of public spaces that prioritizes low-carbon forms of mobility, minimizes motorized private transport and creates space for leisure and community activities often fails because of local status quo interests.

The joint project “Move Your Hood!” of the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI Essen) and the urban research and planning institute Urbanista (Hamburg) aims at developing new ways of reducing CO2 emissions through creative impulses in open and experimental processes of dialogue-oriented participation for improving urban quality of life. In mixed neighborhoods of two German cities (Essen and Offenbach) we plan to test and evaluate innovative participation formats and pass them on to other cities. We will set up an integrated urban development process of a new type that tests high-quality, impartial and innovative bottom-up mobilization and participation processes in two urban model neighborhoods. Through an early, thematically open and inclusive participation process, the residents together with experts from science, business and civil society as well as representatives from politics and administration will design a transformation corridor for the local mobility transition. In this way, we want to develop approaches for accepted changes that are well-founded in the context of the living environment.

We plan:

  1. to test innovative methods aimed at changes in the knowledge level, attitudes and mobility behavior of residents and other user groups;
  2. to develop neighborhood-specific plans for the medium- and long-term restructuring of the urban mobility infrastructure together with residents, users and representatives of the administration; and
  3. to convince other cities to imitate suitable mobilization and participation processes. A modular transfer to other cities and municipalities is planned to take place already during the project phase.

„Beweg Dein Quartier“Co-kreative Entwicklung von Stadträumen als Game-Changer für die Mobilitätswende

Die Mobilitätswende in Deutschland macht keine Fortschritte. Sie erfordert einen radikalen Wandel von Mentalitäten, Einstellungen und sozialen Praktiken. Der Wandel von Lebenswelten bringt – sofern Belastungen und Verhaltensänderungen damit einhergehen – potenziell Widerstand und Konflikte hervor. Eine Umgestaltung öffentlicher Räume, die CO2-freundliche Mobilitätsformen priorisiert, motorisierten Individualverkehr minimiert und Räume für Freizeit und gemeinschaftliche Aktivitäten schaffen soll, scheitert dabei oft an lokalen Status-quo-Interessen.

Das Verbundvorhaben „Beweg Dein Quartier!“ des Kulturwissenschaftlichen Instituts Essen (KWI) und des Stadtforschungs- und Planungsinstituts Urbanista hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, durch kreative Impulse in offenen und experimentellen Prozessen dialogorientierter Beteiligung neue Wege zur Reduzierung des CO2-Ausstoßes zu entwickeln und Impulse zur Verbesserung der urbanen Lebensqualität zu geben. In zwei gemischten Bestandsquartieren deutscher Großstädte (Essen und Offenbach) erproben und evaluieren wir innovative Beteiligungsformate und geben diese an andere Städte weiter. Dabei setzen wir auf einen integrierten Stadtentwicklungsprozess neuen Typus, der qualitativ hochwertige, allparteiliche und innovative Bottom-Up-Mobilisierungs- und Beteiligungsprozesse in zwei urbanen Modellquartieren erprobt. Durch die frühzeitige, thematisch offene und inklusive Beteiligungspraxis entwerfen die Bewohner*innen dabei gemeinsam mit Experten*innen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft sowie Vertreter*innen aus Politik und Verwaltung einen Transformationskorridor der lokalen Mobilitätswende. Auf diese Weise wollen wir Ansätze für lebensweltlich fundierte und akzeptierte Veränderungen entwickeln.

Wir planen dabei:

    1. innovative Methoden, die auf Änderungen des Wissensstandes, der Einstellungen und des Mobilitätsverhaltens der Anwohnerschaft und weiterer Nutzergruppen abzielen, zu erproben;
    2. mit den Bewohner*innen, Nutzenden und der Vertreter*innen der Verwaltung quartiersspezifische Pläne zur mittel- und langfristigen Umgestaltung der urbanen Mobilitätsinfrastruktur zu entwickeln und
    3. andere Städte zur Nachahmung geeigneter Mobilisierungs- und Beteiligungsprozesse zu überzeugen. Bereits in der Projektphase ist ein modularer Transfer in andere Städte und Gemeinden geplant.